Preschool Storytime–Shapes

Bubbles

Hello song (with uke): Hands are clapping / Hey hey how are you

Welcome song (with uke): Willoughby Wallaby Woo

Letter of the Day: (house of sounds is not pictured, but there was a square inside)

IMG_1854

Book 1: Round is a Tortilla, by Roseanne Greenfield Thong and John Parra.

IMG_1858

Flannelboard: I Spy Shapes.  Like we did while reading “Round is a Tortilla,” we identify the shapes of every day objects.  I say, “I spy with my little eye  an object that is a circle shape.”  When the kids guess, I turn it over and reveal the shape and the word.

Flannelboard: Red square red square what do you see.  This is the shapes version of Brown Bear, Brown Bear.  I got this idea here.

IMG_1856

Book 2: Mouse Shapes, by Ellen Stoll Walsh.

IMG_1857

Shape bean bags: I handed these out and we started with the Shape Fun! rhyme from the Tomkins County Public LibraryThrow up the bean bag and catch.

Do you know what shape this is? (to the tune of Muffin Man)

Do you know what shape this is?  What shape this is? What shape this is?

Do you know what shape this is and do you have one too?

If you have one bring it up, bring it up, bring it up.  If you have one bring it up and put it in the box.

IMG_1855

Closing song: Baby Shark

Goodbye song: Icky Sticky Bubble Gum

Activity: tangrams and shape sorting

Leave a comment