Paper plate bats

The Walgreen’s ad for this week has a coupon for paper plates $1.19 per package of 72 (limit 3).  I got some this morning, and I’ve been been thinking of ways to use them.  On this project I used the smaller size, which wasn’t on sale, but it was still only $1.89 for a package of 72.

What you’ll need:

2 Paper plates (I used the smaller dessert size)*

Black and purple paint (I used watercolor, but finger paint would go lots faster)

Scissors

Glue (I used both white glue for assembling the body and glue stick for the facial features)

Bat template

Black cardstock (optional)

Markers, crayons, or colored pencils

*It might be cute to color a coffee filter black and cut it in half to use for wings in place of one of the paper plates.  In my head, it would have a fluttery effect, and it might adhere to the body easier, but I don’t know for sure since I haven’t tried it.

What to do:

1.  Cut one of your plates in half using scissors.

2.  Paint each half black.  On the whole plate, paint the middle purple and the edges black.  I used watercolors, which was a little bit tedious.  If I were doing the project with kids, I might try finger paints to speed the process along.

3.  While plates are drying, print out bat template.  If you wish, you can color all of the pieces with markers, crayons, or colored pencils.  I traced the head and feet onto black cardstock and cut them out, then colored the facial features with markers and cut them out.  Using cardstock makes the head a bit sturdier and easier to glue onto the body, but either works fine.

4.  Glue facial features onto head with glue stick.

5.  Glue paper plate “wings” onto body by applying white glue to one end of each half and pressing firmly onto the back of the whole paper plate (body).  Because the plates are rounded, you may have to hold each wing down for a bit to make sure it sticks.

6.  Apply white glue to the top of each foot and press it onto the back of the body.  Again, you may wish to hold them for a few seconds to make sure they adhere.

7.  Cut two slits at the top of the body for the head to rest into.  Apply white glue to the lower part of the head, arrange the head between the slits, then press the head and body together.

8.  Allow project to dry.

This project was really fun, and the template I found was perfect for it!  My four-year-old really enjoyed coloring the template and gluing the facial features on, but I did the painting, cutting out and gluing the body.  It might be a little too high-maintenance for a storytime, especially if you have a large group.   Even so, I really enjoyed this project, and I think he turned out pretty cute!  We hung ours up in our front window.

 

Leave a comment