Tween/teen STEAM program–Glow Painting Party!

lsb 4Thanks to a generous grant from LSTA, my library is able to do some really cool STEAM programming (if I do say so myself!) this fall that I’m SO excited about!  Last night we had a glow in the dark painting party for tweens/teens ages 10-14.  The event was free of charge but we did require registration (we kept the number down to 10 just to make sure everything worked out okay).  Slots filled up so quickly that we are already planning another one for tweens and maybe even one for adults!  All we needed to pull this off was four blacklights, some neon paint, paintbrushes, and canvases.  The program took place at 6:00 p.m., so we did have to close the blinds and put cloth over the windows and door to make it as dark as possible inside the room.  In the future I might advise attendees to wear white or neon and maybe give away glow in the dark bracelets or necklaces.  It would also be fun to use neon food coloring to color icing and make glow cookies.

Now I’m trying to think of other things we can do with our cool new blacklights!  I’m sort of wanting to make bouncy balls and get some florescent duct tape…

lsb 2 lsb 1 lsb 3

3 thoughts on “Tween/teen STEAM program–Glow Painting Party!

Leave a comment