Homeschool Hub–Where in the World? Africa

Standard

photo(1)My library hosts a weekly program for homeschooling families that covers a variety of topics such as art, science, history, history, and geography.  Last week we took a glimpse into Africa.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

African Thumb Piano (Kalimba)–This idea came from Zylie & Friends.  I cut squares from foam board and the kids taped five bobby pins on one end, then painted the foam board.  At this station I had a laptop playing a Youtube playlist of kalimba music.

photo(2)Ndebele house–I saw this idea here.  I cut white construction paper in half longwise and cut circles from brown construction paper.  I printed out examples of Ndebele houses for the kids to look at while they decorated their houses.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo(3) photo(4) photo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My favorite part was our stuffed animal safari.  We got these VTech Kidizoom cameras awhile back and enjoyed using them for photo(5)a stop action animation Lego program.  When I started planning this program, I hadn’t planned on using the cameras, but it just kind of came to me in a flash–we should totally do a photo safari!  This cameras are super simple to use and were a great investment.  I’m looking forward to finding more ways to incorporate them into our programming.

Leave a Reply

