Oceans storytimes

Standard

Wow!  I can’t believe summer is here again!  For my final storytimes of the spring term, I wanted to choose a science-related theme that allowed me to start talking about our Fizz Boom READ summer reading program.  I decided that the ocean was perfect!  I used some combination of these books, songs, and activities at both of my preschool storytimes, my pre-k outreach storytime, and my Book Buddies storytime for children of all ages and abilities.

commotion in the ocean Commotion in the Ocean by Giles Andrae and David Wojtowycz (E OCEAN ANDR).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pout pout fishThe Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen. (E FISH DIES)  For some reason I had never read or used this awesome book before.  This is a fantastic read-aloud that is now on my list of faves!  Pre-K especially had a great time saying “Blub Bluub BLUUUUUUUUUB” with me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ten little fishTen Little Fish by Audrey Wood and Bruce Wood.  (E COUNTING WOOD)  Counting concept book that counts backward from ten and then up again.  I love this book and used it for all three groups.  The rhyming text makes it easy to predict which number is coming next: “Ten little fish, swimming in a line.  One dives down, and now there are…”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

rub a dub subRub a Dub Sub, by Linda Ashman and Jeff Mack. (E OCEAN ASHM) Again, rhyming text is so helpful for phonological awareness.  There are also some uncommon animal names that are great for vocabulary building, such as marlin, wrasse, and eel.  The illustrations are so cute and colorful.  (I *just* realized that is the same Jeff Mack who wrote and illustrated my beloved “Good News Bad News” and “Ah Ha!”  The guy is a genius!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Song: There’s a shark

Song: Once I caught a fish alive

paper plate fishCraft: paper plate fish.  I found many versions of this on Pinterest.  You cut a wedge out of the paper plate and staple or glue it on to the side as a tail.  We decorated ours with dot markers and glued on pieces of aluminum foil and a wiggly eye.

 

 

 

 

 

ocean pupptsPretend play with ocean puppets.  The kids had a great time with this!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Activities: I got both of the following activities from the awesome Prekinders.

fish bingoOcean bingo–the template is Prekinders (see link above).  I randomly wrote in letters and put letters on scraps of paper in a container.  The kids each chose a card and a dot marker.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

fishing activityfish activity closeupFishing for numbers.  Again, directions for this activity can be found on Prekinders.  The rod is a wooden dowel with yarn and a magnet attached.  The fish each have a paper clip on them.  I like the versatility of this activity–older kids added the dots on the fish together and younger kids just counted the dots.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

