Preschool storytime–Art and colors!

Standard

art storytime mouse paintOur first week of fall storytimes!  I have really missed seeing everyone!  This week, we talked about art and colors, specifically mixing colors.  Before we got started, I turned on the bubble machine and sang “hello bubbles” and “one little, two little, three little bubbles”

Opening song: We hit our knees together (Mother Goose on the Loose)

Opening rhyme:  Two Little Dickey Birds (I like to have them make their “birds” flutter around before we say “Stop!” and start the rhyme.)

Book: Mouse Paint, by Ellen Stoll Walsh.  (E COLORS WALS)This book is just perfect for a discussion of primary colors and mixing colors.   Add in the humor of the white mice hiding from the cat on white paper, then taking a bath in the cat’s water dish?–priceless!  I love books that teach concepts without being didactic–and this is one!

art storytime mouse puppetsActivity: If you have a [color] mouse, stand up.  My predecessor made these amazing mouse finger puppets.  Every once in awhile I love to pass them out and do “Hickory Dickory Dock” as a fingerplay with them.  Since we were talking so much about colors, I handed them out and had the kids stand up as I called the color of their mouse before we did the rhyme.

 

 

 

 

 

art storytime color kittensBook: Color Kittens, by Margaret Wise Brown.  (E COLORS BROW)I thought that this was a good fit with Mouse Paint because it featured two cats mixing colors.  Plus, I think that the imagery Margaret Wise Brown uses to evoke all of the colors is just beautiful.  (This was one of my daughter’s favorites when she was about 3 years old–she always loved counting to three when the red rose tree turned to white!)  I read this one at the Leesburg storytime.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

art storytime blue horseBook: The Artist who Painted a Blue Horse, by Eric Carle.  (E CARLE)  I used this one at the Oakland storytime.  I asked the kids if they knew “The Very Hungry Caterpillar”.  When they said yes, I told them that this book was written and illustrated by the same person–then I explained what those terms mean.  Since the book features animals in unusual colors (orange elephant, etc) we talked about what colors those animals *usually* are.  Then we decided that artists can paint things either as they actually are, or how they are in our imaginations.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Closing game: rhyme cube (today was the Wheels on the Bus)

Closing rhyme: This is Big (Mel’s Desk)

Closing song: My hands say thank you

art storytime palette craftCraft:  We used the dot markers to mix colors!  The only thing I would caution is to use the yellow first when mixing colors! 🙂  The kids had a good time exploring the color mixing process.

 

 

Leave a Reply

