Preschool storytime–Money!

Standard

Since April is Financial Literacy month, I decided to do a money-themed storytime last week for my preschool storytime groups.

Opening song:  We hit our knees together

Opening rhyme: Open them, shut them

Opening game:  Discussion–what do we use money for?  (For my first group, I wrote down a list of what we use money for.  For the second group, we just talked about it.  Neither group was very talkative, so I prompted them–we buy things we want/need, we save, and we give to others).

010I used this opportunity to show this flannelboard (adapted from a worksheet) and we sang a song.

(To the tune of Ten Little Indians)

Pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters

Pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters

Pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters

Put them in that order.

 

 

 

007Book: Benny’s Pennies, by Pat Brisson, Illustrated by Bob Barner.  This book is perfect for introducing the concept of money to very young children.  Benny has 5 shiny new pennies.  What shall he buy with them?  Luckily, his friends and family have plenty of suggestions.

011I used this flannel board as I was reading the book.  I think that it really helped the kids keep track of Benny’s spending.  After each purchase, we would review–Benny has one sweet smelling flower, one yummy cookie, and how many pennies?

 

 

 

 

009 Song:  Down around the corner at the bakery shop.  I got this idea and the nickel pieces from Mel’s Desk.  I asked for 5 volunteers and gave each of them a coin.  Then, as I sang the song, I would call on each of them to bring their coin up and get a cookie.  I usually do this song with a puppet of some kind, but I think that the kids really enjoyed doing it this way, and it gave them the experience of “spending money.”

 

 

 

 

008Bunny Money, by Rosemary Wells.  I love me some Max and Ruby!  However, this book didn’t seem to go over very well with my first group.  It would probably be more successful with older kids (say, 4-5 years) or with younger kids on a one-on-one basis.  It was a little on the long side and maybe too hard to keep track of the spending.  For that reason, with the second group I used a different book:

 

 

 

 

 

006Sheep in a Shop, by Nancy Shaw and Margot Apple.  These books are so cute!  I love them for phonological awareness since they have lots of rhyming words!  The sheep are shopping for a birthday present, but uh-oh!  Their piggy bank doesn’t have quite enough money in it to cover their purchases!  What will they do?  Trade their wool, of course!

 

 

 

 

 

Craft: Crayola play money coloring page.  We talked briefly about what color real money is, and that we DO NOT color on real money.  (There were definitely some relieved giggles from the parents and caregivers when I said that!)

Preschool storytimes and playgroups meet on Tuesday mornings at 10:00 a.m. at the Leesburg Library and Thursday mornings at 10:00 a.m. at the Oakland Library.  Preschool storytimes will go through the week of April 29, then break until the fall.  Rubber Ducky Club, summer reading for ages 0-5, will begin on Monday, June 3.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

