Pre-K storytime–Feelings

Standard

003My Many Colored Days, by Dr. Seuss (E SEUSS).  This isn’t your typical Dr. Seuss, but I really love to include it in my feelings storytimes.  Feelings can be difficult to describe, but Seuss makes them easier to talk about by relating them to colors and animals.  The book also emphasizes that, whatever feelings come and go, you are always you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

001Knuffle Bunny, by Mo Willems.  (E WILLEMS)  I chose this because my library’s copy of Grumpy Bird by Jeremy Tankard seems to have gone missing (MAJOR sad face).  I was actually surprised at how well it worked with the feelings theme.  Before I started reading the book, I asked the kids what might make them sad.  Many of them responded that they would be sad if they lost their favorite toy (exactly what happens to Trixie in the book!)  Then, I asked them what if they couldn’t *tell* anyone what was wrong?  There are some amazing illustrations showing Trixie’s emotional journey from the sadness, anger and anxiety of losing Knuffle Bunny, to her joy and excitement when Knuffle Bunny is found.  I ended by telling the kids that they were lucky that they are big and can use their words to tell people how they are feeling.

 

 

Song:  H-A-P-P-Y.  This song comes from Katie at Story Time Secrets.  I made flashcards with clipart faces and corresponding words.  I pointed to the letters as we sang the song.

004If You’re Happy and You Know It, by Jan Ormerod and Lindsey Gardiner (E FEELINGS ORME)  A fun, positive way to end the storytime.  The kids always enjoy acting out how animals show it when they are happy and they know it!

 

 

 

 

001We ended with my toucan puppet, since the toucan in the book clicks and clacks his beak when he’s happy!

Leave a Reply

