Paper plate scarecrow craft (and school tour!)

Standard

I had a school group come in for a tour this morning.  I loved having them here!  In an effort to make the tour a little more interesting, I reconfigured the story of The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything to incorporate tour stops within the story.  At each stop, we collected a piece of the scarecrow, and we made this craft at the end.  I *think* I made it up, but it wouldn’t surprise me if someone else has already done it.  The head is a small/dessert size paper plate painted with orange acrylic paint (I did this ahead of time).  The shoes, pants, shirt, and hat are construction paper and the gloves are white cardstock.  Everything is mounted on a paper towel roll so that it can stand up by itself–the paper plate is stapled at the top, and everything else was glued with a glue stick.

I like this craft because it is a craft–that is, we made something specific that tied in with the story that I told–but it is also open-ended because the kids were encouraged to decorate their scarecrows however they wanted.  Some kids cut shapes out of black paper for the pumpkin’s face, others drew them on (one kid drew glasses, which I absolutely loved!)  They decorated their clothes in a way that was unique to them, and I think (I hope!) they had fun.

I am attempting to attach a template for the clothes.  Please let me know if it doesn’t work and I can try emailing it to you.  I am also happy to share my tour/story, if anyone wants it.

scarecrow template

 

Leave a Reply

