Pre-K storytime–cookies!

Standard

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, by Laura Joffe Numeroff, Illustrated by Felicia Bond. (E MICE NUME).  I know, I know.  Everybody already knows this book.  But just in case some of the kids have never heard it before, I like to mix in old favorites with more unfamiliar titles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Who took the cookie from the cookie jar?  I did this one just like I did with the preschool storytime, except the cow had the cookie instead of the dinosaur.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Cow Loves Cookies, by Karma Wilson, Illustrated by Marcellus Hall.  (E FARM ANIMALS WILS).  I love the rhyming text and repetition in this book.  Most of the kids said that they had heard it before, but they definitely enjoyed hearing it again!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Five Little Cookies.  This time, I used my cow puppet and the nickels that Melissa generously provided at Mel’s Desk.  As I went through the rhyme, I replaced each cookie with a nickel.  I think using the nickels really illustrated the point that cow was buying the cookies and removing them from the store.  What a great way to introduce early math concepts!  (Incidentally, my daughter is in one of the pre-k classes that I read to, and she said that this was her favorite part!)  Just for fun, I asked what they thought cow did with all the cookies.  They all said “she ate them!”, so I had her eat them, Cookie Monster-style.  Some of them flew out across the room.  It was awesome.

 

 

 

 

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? by Mo Willems.  (E WILLEMS).  The last time I read a Pigeon book, I was afraid that the kids didn’t really “get” why it was funny.  Not so with this one!  Each group I read this book to thought that it was hilarious!  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again–Mo Willems can do no wrong in my book, and Pigeon books in particular are SO fun to read aloud.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I just love those flannel board activities! The kids came back to the room talking about the cow eating the cookies. They were very excited about it. I’m a big Mo Willems fan, too, and when they were describing that book to me, I reached into my book basket, and pulled it out. They were all screaming, “yeah, yeah, that’s the one!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

