LEGO Club–Redbone (slideshow)

Standard

Thursday was LEGO Club at the Redbone Library!  We had a great turnout, and there were many brilliant creations.  See a slideshow here.

For my librarian friends out there, I would highly recommend this program.  Yes, it can be a little difficult to come by the blocks, but once you have them, you have them forever.  This is a low maintenance program that is fun for a wide range of kids (we offered big MegaBloks, Duplo, and LEGO).  I started publicizing the club several months ago, and put requests for blocks on Facebook, here on this blog, and on posters around the library.  I did require preregistration, though I understand that many libraries do because of the quantity of blocks.  Although I was anxious about not having enough blocks, the kids played just fine with the ones that we had.  I will say that they are particularly interested in the figurines, so be aware of that!  Another tip that I read somewhere (I’m sorry–I don’t remember where) is this: keep the blocks on a cloth.  That way, all you have to do to clean up is gather up the cloth and pour it into your storage bin.  This tip saved me a TON of time!

 

All in all, this was a successful program, and I am looking to pick it up on a regular basis in the fall.  I welcome any suggestions about times, days, and frequency of meetings (weekly, bi-weekly, monthly).

LEGO Club is sponsored by the Lee County Library and is free and open to the public.  For more information call 759-2369.

One response »

Leave a Reply

