HeadStart visit–I Can’t Sleep!

Standard

Last Thursday was my last storytime for HeadStart.  😦  I have been seen them once a month at their school and once a month at the library since February, so I will really miss them!  I decided to use our last storytime to tell them about our summer reading program, Dream Big–READ!

Of course, my troublesome bear puppet Grizz had to make an appearance:

Grizz was too excited about summer reading to sleep, so I decided to do an “I Can’t Sleep!” storytime!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did two of the same books I used for our Teddy Bear Sleepover in March: Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late! by Mo Willems and Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein.  In this post, I want to note two things that I did differently.

First, since this group was all younger kids (ages 3-5), we sang Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed using my monkey glove puppet.  As suggested by Hi Miss Julie! I ended with kissing the monkeys’ boo-boos, covering them with a blanket, and we sang them to sleep with Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.  This is a fantastic idea, and the kids loved it!

 

 

 

 

 

I also read Harold and the Purple Crayon, by Crockett Johnson.  I prepared by setting out a purple crayon and taping a large white sheet of paper on the board.  Near the beginning of the story, Harold draws a moon, so I drew a moon.  Harold draws many other things throughout the story, but I decided not to draw them for simplicity’s sake.  I just drew the moon at the beginning and read the rest of the book up until this point: “Then, suddenly, Harold remembered.  He remembered where his bedroom window was, when there was a moon.  It was always right around the moon.” (draw window and curtains around the moon).  It was very effective to do it this way, and it jazzed up the story a little bit.

 

 

 

I ended with telling them about some of the things we have coming up for summer reading and distributing stickers and coloring sheets to the kids, and handing the teachers a stack of packets to send home for parents.

4 responses »

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I also love your idea of drawing the moon and window while you read Harold and the Purple Crayon. I had been searching and searching looking for ideas on how to create an interactive way of reading the book for my storytime, but everything seemed to complicated. This was perfect and the children and parents loved it! Oh, and I enjoy reading your blog too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

