Preschool storytime–Hippity Hoppity, Easter’s on its way!

Standard

Opening song: We hit the floor together

Opening rhyme: This is Big, Big, Big

Quiet Bunny’s Many Colors, by Lisa McCue.  Quiet Bunny just loves springtime and all the beautiful colors he sees around him.  In fact, he wishes that he could be a beautiful spring color, instead of brown and white, which reminds him of winter.  He experiments with covering himself in these spring colors (yellow daffodils, green lily pads, blue berries, red mud), until he learns to accept and appreciate all of nature’s colors, including his own.  I told this story using my new bunny puppet (50% off at JoAnn Fabrics!) and my yellow, green, blue, and red scarves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Easter Egg Hunt flannelboard: To make this, I just googled coloring sheets for things you would find outside in the springtime–tree, bucket, flower, wagon.  I colored them in with markers and laminated them using clear contact paper, then attached velcro dots on the back.  Same with the Easter egg.  One astute young storytimer noted that the egg couldn’t be behind the flower, because the flower was too small!  Ha!

 

 

 

 

The Best Easter Eggs Ever! by Jerry Smath.  Easter Bunny is tired of the same old polka dotted eggs he has been painting, so he recruits his three young helpers to enter a contest to design the best Easter egg ever!  They each find inspiration in different places, but who will win the title of Best Easter Egg Ever?  I liked this book a lot when I read it myself, but in storytime it seemed to go on forever!  I tried to make it a little bit interactive by having the kids vote for which egg they liked best, but that came near the end of the story.  I definitely like the book, but it is probably best for older audiences–say, three and up.

 

 

 

Song: Little Bunny Foo Foo.  I have to say that I absolutely love this song and have since childhood.  My husband, however, had never heard of it prior to hearing me sing it to our daughter.  I think that this is a travesty!  I thought an Easter/Bunny themed storytime would be the perfect vehicle for this cute little tune.  Of course I had to use my new bunny puppet (who, randomly, squeaks.  Do bunnies squeak?) and a little monster guy for the GOON at the end.  I thought about trying to find a puppet to play the Good Fairy and one to represent the field mice, but I didn’t want to complicate things too much.  I think having a mouse for him to “bop on the head” might have added more interest, so I might try at least that next time.  But definitely having a goon at the end was a hit!

 

 

Hippity Skippity Easter, by Maria Fleming, Illustrated by Katy Bratun.  Easter Bunny is out delivering eggs to his friends when–UHOH!–he has an accident that sends his basket of eggs flying!  Has Easter been ruined?  This is a much shorter, simpler Easter book, more appropriate for younger audiences.

 

 

 

 

 

Closing song: My hands say thank you

Then we had playtime!  Check out my recent post about playtime here.

Leave a Reply

