Preschool Storytime–Get well soon!

Standard

Last week I was SICK.  Not quite stay-in-bed sick, but definitely coughing, sneezing, hoarse-can-barely-talk sick.  As a result, I lost my voice on Wednesday and was unable to go to pre-k.  😦

I thought this week would be a good opportunity to do a Get Well Soon storytime.  That way, I could explain to pre-k why I had missed.  (It turns out, they weren’t too happy about it, and they definitely wanted an explanation!)

 

 

 

 

Opening Song:  We hit our knees together

Opening Rhyme:  This is Big (from Mel’s Desk)

Felix Feels Better by Rosemary Wells.  This is such a cute little book!  Felix isn’t feeling very well after he stays up just a little too late and eats just a little too much candy.  His mother tries various things to get him feeling better, but they ultimately end up at Doctor Duck’s office.  Felix is afraid at first, but feels lots better after some “Happy Tummy” medicine and a good rest.  Although this book moves a little more slowly than my typical storytime choices, I thought it was important to talk about going to the doctor and addressing the fear that some children have about it.  This book was a good segue into my doctor kit flannelboard….

 

 

 

This idea came straight from Storytime Katie (Thanks, Storytime Katie!)  If you haven’t already, you should check out the set that Katie made–it is absolutely beautiful!  She sewed hers (it looks like they are double-layered and sewn together), and that probably makes it much sturdier and more play-friendly.  The kids really enjoyed playing with it, so I will eventually make a sturdier set.  I started by asking the kids what the red symbol on the bag meant, and then I took out each piece and asked them what it was.  Usually they knew what it was used for but didn’t quite know the name.  I absolutely loved the fact that Katie made the medicine pink, because almost every preschool child alive has taken the “pink medicine” at one time or another.  In fact, my daughter is taking it now and detests it–which I shared with them.  We also talked about bandages and how they make ones with pictures on them (we have Scooby Doo at my house).

 

The Cow Buzzed by Andrea Zimmerman and David Clemsha, Illustrated by Paul Meisel.  I started this one by telling the kids the title of the book, then asking “Do cows usually buzz?”  When they answered no, I asked them “What sound do cows usually make?”  And they mooed.  It was funny.

Anyway, a visiting bee starts a cold epidemic at a farm.  The animals fail to keep their coughs and sneezes to themselves, so they pass along the cold AND their sounds!  Thus, after the cow caught the cold from the bee, she buzzed like a bee.  The cow sneezed on the pig, who then mooed like a cow, and so on…until the rabbit breaks the cycle by covering his mouth when he sneezes.  This is a fun book to read aloud.  The kids particularly enjoyed saying the proper animal sounds once the animals got their voices back.  My one critique of this book would be that I wish the illustrations were a little clearer.  The kids really wanted to predict who would get the cold first, but sometimes it was hard to tell from the picture.  It’s a good lesson for keeping coughs and sneezes to yourself.  In fact, after the end of the story, I asked them how to keep your coughs and sneezes to yourself, and most of them demonstrated sneezing/coughing into your elbow/upper arm.

Sneezing Puppets:  I used each of the puppets (pictured at the top of this page) to recite this rhyme.  Again, thanks to Storytime Katie for this idea.

Cow’s nose twitches, cow’s nose tingles!

He is going to sneeze!

Moo-choo!  Moo-choo!  Moo-choo!

(Horse: neigh-choo; Pig: oink-choo)  Since the name of my next book is Baa-choo! I held up the lamb puppet and asked the kids what they thought the lamb would say.  Then I proceeded with the same rhyme, saying Baa-choo! at the end

Baa-Choo! by Sarah Weeks, Illustrated by Jane Manning.  Sam the Lamb needs to sneeze, but he just can’t seem to finish his sneeze!  His friends try to help him out by tickling his nose with a feather, blowing pepper with a fan, and kicking up dust.  I read this book in my best stuffed up nose voice.  The kids kept wanting to say “Choo!” when Sam started to sneeze, and they thought it was funny that it kept not happening.    I have to let you know that when he does finally sneeze, Sam does NOT cover his mouth (despite the fact that he carries around a handkerchief the whole rest of the story!)  I pointed that out to them and reminded them that we should cover our mouths.

 

Leave a Reply

