Baby Storytime–MGOL #3

Standard

We had another great baby storytime this morning!  I am using a program called Mother Goose on the Loose, which is a wonderful early learning program that is designed especially for very young children.  The songs, rhymes, and activities in this program support parents in developing their children’s early literacy in a fun environment. Here’s what we did today:

Old Mother Goose

Old Mother Goose when she wanted to wander would FLY through the air on her very fine gander!  (hold baby up at the word “FLY”)

Goosey Goosey Gander

Goosey Goosey Gander where do you wander?  (pat legs to rhythm)

Upstairs (hold baby up), downstairs (bring baby down), and in my lady’s chamber (hugs)

Two Little Dickey Birds

Good Morning Mrs. Perky Bird

 

 

 

The Very Hungry Caterpillar, By Eric Carle.  Today I shared this classic story of a little caterpillar’s path to butterfly-hood.  I think this book is just brilliant, and I love it.  Eric Carle’s illustrations are gorgeous and colorful.  A perfect choice that I will be using again.

 

 

 

 

 

If You’re Happy and You Know It–We sang this while looking at the first page of Jan Ormerod’s If You’re Happy and You Know It.

Next, we recited Little Miss Muffet, which I acted out with these simple puppets.  I just printed out coloring pages from the internet, colored and laminated them, then attached them to craft sticks.  Then I used the spider only for the first time we recited Itsy Bitsy Spider.  The next go round I did the hand motions.

 

 

 

 

 

The next segment was body rhymes.  There wasn’t much new here, but I can definitely tell that they are starting to catch on, and they enjoy them more and more each week.  I think our favorite is this knee bounce:

Mother and Father and Uncle John

Went to town, one by one

Mother fell off (lean to one side)

And Father fell off (lean to other side)

And Uncle John went on and on and on and on! (bounce knees)

This week we did our drum segment using a tambourine, which was a nice change of pace.

The animal segment is usually pretty much the same, except I try to find different books to share while we sing “I went to visit a farm today”.  Today, I used Old MacDonald Had a Farm by Jane Cabrera.  I really like the clarity and approachability of Cabrera’s illustrations, especially for this age group.  Before I found this book, I was using a book that had photographs of real animals because I thought the kids might have a hard time identifying artistic illustrations.  But these illustrations are large and clear, so I will be using this book again.  (I did skip the non-animal pages and the goat page, because the only sound I can attribute to a goat sounded too much like a sheep).

 

 

 

I’m so excited that we are able to offer bells and shakers during our baby storytime.  These are so fun and colorful, and they are specially designed to be safe for young babies.  We shake them while we sing songs.

 

 

 

 

 

I also love our scarf time.  They are so much fun to play peekaboo!  Today, we used them while we sang “This is the way we wash our face”.  We also stirred them like cake batter and recited Pat-a-cake.  I am always amazed at how easily these sweet babies will put away their bells and scarves when we sing “Bells Away” or “Scarves Away“!  Proof positive that singing a song almost always improves whatever you are doing!

 

 

 

 

Today’s lullaby was:

Lavender’s blue, dilly dilly, lavender’s green.

When I am king, dilly dilly, you shall be queen.

Who told you so, dilly dilly, who told you so?

‘Twas my own heart, dilly dilly, that told me so.

While we sang, I showed the illustration from this beautiful book Pocketful of Posies: A Treasury of Nursery Rhymes by Salley Mavor.

 

Humpty Dumpty (interactive–after we recited it once, each child had a turn knocking Humpty Dumpty off the wall)

Can you kick with two feet?

After the storytime, the moms stayed to chat while babies played with blocks, puzzles, and other toys.  We had a great time!

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Babytime and playgroup coming to Oakland Library! « LibrErin

Leave a Reply

