Baby Time #2

Standard

Since I am using Mother Goose on the Loose, I used many of the same rhymes and songs as I did last week.  This is wonderful for babies because repetition helps them learn.  (That’s why they want *this* book over and over and over again!)  As they begin to learn the rhyme or song, they gain confidence and enjoy the accomplishment of being able to join in.  However, throwing in a few new things here and there is a good way to keep it fresh and fun.

In that spirit, Mrs. Perky Bird (see left) made her appearance. This week I had her go around and interact with each of the children, which they really enjoyed.  They even wanted to play with her after storytime was over and other toys were out!

 

 

Another rhyme that was new for this week was “I Hear Thunder”.  One of my favorite tips from MGOL is that you do not have to read the entire book from cover to cover to enjoy it with your child.  I showed page 5 from Molly and the Storm by Christine Leeson and Illustrated by Gaby Hansen while we recited the rhyme.

I hear thunder, I hear thunder

Hark, don’t you?  Hark, don’t you?

Pitter patter raindrops, pitter patter raindrops

I’m wet through, I’m wet through.

I also made a flannelboard piece out of an umbrella coloring sheet.  After the rhyme, we identified the umbrella and talked about what it does.

This week, I shared Where is Baby’s Belly Button?  By Karen Katz.  This sturdy lift-the-flap board book is perfect for very young children because it mixes identifying parts of the body with a fun game of peekaboo!  “Where are baby’s eyes?  Under her hat!”  As I read, the children pointed out their own eyes, mouth, etc.

 

 

 

 

 

We used our drum again this week to play the freeze game.  Using a freeze game like this one allows you to teach the word “STOP!” in a kind, gentle way.

 

For our lullaby this week, we sang Twinkle Twinkle Little Star again, but this time I shared page 1 of Our Stars by Anne Rockwell.  I LOVE this illustration.  Its composition is simple enough to be easily understood by very young children, and I think that it perfectly captures the wonder that “Twinkle Twinkle” is all about.  Another idea I really like from MGOL is that lullabies can be used during the daytime to help your child calm down after a particularly stimulating activity.

 

 

 

 

Please feel free to leave any feedback or suggestions in the comments!  I’m having a great time sharing these rhymes, songs and stories with you and your babies!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Babytime and playgroup coming to Oakland Library! « LibrErin

Leave a Reply

