Mother Goose is on the Loose!

Standard

Today was my first Baby Storytime at the library!  We had lots of fun!  As I have mentioned before, I am using Mother Goose on the Loose, which is an early literacy program that focuses on incorporating rhymes, music, visuals and play to foster an early love of learning and discovery in very young children.  Each storytime will have set segments, and many of the rhymes and songs will be the same from week to week.  This makes young children secure in knowing what to expect, and their confidence will grow as they are able to participate more and more as the weeks progress.

Segment one is a welcome and introduction.  The most important thing here is to know that it is perfectly fine if your child makes noise or moves around.  We all know that babies are curious and that they like to move and speak when they see something interesting.  We do like to keep the area around me clear so that everyone can see.  I remind everyone that we will have playtime after we finish storytime.  I also have a table with suggested  books for baby and parent, a stack of my business cards with contact information, and a suggestion box.

Segment two is general rhymes and songs and a book.  I really like the continuity of always starting with “Old Mother Goose” and “Goosey Goosey Gander”.  We also did “Two Little Dickey Birds,” which introduces the concepts of soft and loud.  For today’s book, I shared Truck Party! by Tammi Salzano, Illustrated by Hannah Wood.  It’s Truck’s birthday, and all his friends are planning a surprise party!  I think the kids liked the colorful illustrations, and who doesn’t like talking about birthday parties?  It also played into “Two Little Dickey Birds” a bit, because we had to be very quiet before we yelled “SURPRISE!”

Segment three is body rhymes, starting from head to toe.  I think this is my favorite part of MGOL so far–watching the babies giggle as their moms tickle them and enjoy the rhymes together.  I can say that I taught my four-year-old daughter “Knock on the Door” and she keeps asking me to do it over and over again!

Knock on the door (knock gently on child’s head)

Pull the bell (gently pull a strand of child’s hair)

Peek in (gently point to child’s eye with index finger)

Lift up the latch (gently lift up child’s nose)

Walk in (walk fingers toward child’s mouth)

Take a chair (pinch one cheek gently)

Sit down (pinch other cheek gently)

How do you do, Mrs. Brown? (gently tug at child’s chin)

Segment 4 We use a drum to tap the syllables of our names and march around the room!

Segment 5 In this segment, we talked about farm animals.  One great tip from MGOL is that you do not have to read a book from cover to cover in order to enjoy it.  Today I used Carry Me – Farm Animals by Joanna Bicknell while we sang about the sounds animals make when you see them on the farm.  We sang another song as I pulled out animal puppets and we made their sounds together.  You could easily do either of these activities with the familiar “Old MacDonald had a Farm”.

Segment 6 We played with musical instruments (bells and shakers) and colorful scarves.

Segment 7 We sang a lullaby “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” while looking at a beautiful illustration from “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star” by Jerry Pinkney.  These aren’t just for bedtime–singing lullabies while you hold your child close gives them a sense of security at any time during the day.

Segment 8 We recited “Humpty Dumpty” using flannelboard pieces, then each child had a turn knocking Humpty Dumpty off the wall!

Segment 9 We sang goodbye songs

Playtime!  We played with blocks, balls, puzzles, stacking toys, shape sorters, and more!  We listened to Mozart Melodies.

It sounds like a lot, but it goes very quickly.  The storytime lasts about 30 minutes, and playtime was 30 to 45 minutes.  If you have any questions about MGOL or any of our storytimes at the library, please feel free to contact me.  Thanks to everyone that came!  I hope to see more new faces next week!

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Baby Time #2 « LibrErin

  2. Pingback: Baby Storytime–Bells and Scarves « LibrErin

  3. Hi, Thank you very much for posting the sample outline and info of each segment. I am a parent and I’ve been attending MGOL with my 3 year old and now also with my 10 month old at our local library. We LOVE this program. I’m looking for material like this that I can use for my church’s Sunday School Program. Is there any training materials available for people like me (non-teachers) who would like to learn how to conduct this program?

    Thanks

    • It’s a great program! You can purchase materials on the MGOL website store http://www.mgol.net/store/ Before my library purchased the materials, I borrowed it from another library, so you might be able to do that. The program is much the same from week to week, so once you learn the songs and rhymes you won’t have to refer to the materials much. The materials include a CD that takes you through a sample program from start to finish, which is extremely helpful. I listened to the CD in my car over and over until I learned the rhymes and songs. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

