Storytime is BACK!!!!

Standard

I’m so happy to announce that Storytimes are coming back to the library starting February 6 at 10:00 a.m.!  I appreciate all of you being patient with me.  Since I’m new to children’s librarianship, I wanted to research as much as I could to bring you the best possible storytime experience.  I hope that you will make us a regular part of your child’s weekly schedule.

Baby Time (ages birth to 24 months)  is 10:00 a.m. on Mondays.  I will be using the wonderful Mother Goose on the Loose program for Baby Time.  This program was developed with very young children in mind.  This program focuses on songs, nursery rhymes, music and activities to promote emergent literacy.  Much of the program is repeated from week to week, which gives very young children a sense of consistency and stability.  They will also gain confidence as they learn new rhymes and songs and, most importantly, have special time to interact with you, the parent, one on one.  Feel free to stay after to chat while the children play together with age-appropriate toys and listen to music.

Preschool Time (ages 2 to 5) is 10:00 a.m. on Tuesdays.  Since older children have longer attention spans, we will read several books with a weekly theme during Preschool Time.  We will also be using rhymes, puppets, and songs to make sharing books a joyful experience for your child.

I will be regularly posting storytime happenings here on LibrErin, so feel free to comment on what you liked and any suggestions you might have for the future.  I will also offer a good old-fashioned suggestion box after storytimes.

Literacy development begins at birth, and you are your child’s first teacher.  Storytime can give you ideas and support to help you fulfill this very important role in your child’s life.  If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the library.  I look forward to seeing you all!

Leave a Reply

